Search for a physical therapy clinic in Mississippi by city.

Or select a city here

Direct Access makes self-referral for physical therapy easy in Mississippi.

Here are the Direct Access laws in Mississippi, as described by the American Physical Therapy Association:

Mississippi is one of six states that allow limited direct patient access to physical therapy.

A physical therapist may only provide direct access to physical therapy in Mississippi under the following basis:

To any child diagnosed with a developmental disability if direct access physical therapy in Mississippi is pursuant to the patient's plan of care.

If the physical therapist is acting as part of a home health agency or long-term care facility and therapy aligns with the patient's determined plan of care.

If the patient is seeing the physical therapist in Mississippi for injury prevention, wellness, stress reduction, or fitness services.

If the patient has previously received a diagnosis for any condition(s) within the last 180 days that necessitate physical therapy services—and the therapist has notified the provider who determined the diagnosis.

Within the first 15 days of direct access physical therapy in Mississippi, the physical therapist must provide a plan of care to the provider who determined the diagnosis.


Direct Access lets you self-refer for physical therapy. No prescription required.