person-with-new-mexico

Search for a physical therapy clinic in New Mexico by city.

Or select a city here

Direct Access makes self-referral for physical therapy easy in New Mexico.

Here are the Direct Access laws in New Mexico, as described by the American Physical Therapy Association:

New Mexico is one of 26 states that allow direct patient access to PT with some provisions. In order for a PT to treat patients via direct access physical therapy in New Mexico:

The PT must refer a patient to the patient’s licensed healthcare provider if the patient has not made measurable or functional improvement 30 days after starting therapy treatment.

If the patient is making measurable progress with direct access physical therapy in New Mexico and improving, the 30-day limit does not apply.

The 30-day provision also does not apply to:

Treatment provided by a physical therapist in New Mexico for complaints related to chronic neuromuscular or developmental conditions for patients previously diagnosed with such a condition.

Health promotion, wellness, fitness, or health maintenance services.

Direct access for physical therapy services provided to patients in New Mexico who are, under federal law, participating in programs involving an education or family service plan.

direct-access

Direct Access lets you self-refer for physical therapy. No prescription required.