person-with-maine

Search for a physical therapy clinic in Maine by city.

Or select a city here

Direct Access makes self-referral for physical therapy easy in Maine.

Here are the Direct Access laws in Maine, as described by the American Physical Therapy Association:

Maine is one of 26 states that allow direct patient access to physical therapy. However, there are some provisions that come along with direct access for physical therapy in Maine. They are as follows:

To practice direct access to physical therapy in Maine, the PT:

Should not apply manipulative thrust to the vertebrae of the spine.

Should not administer drugs.

Should make a referral when the patient’s condition requires treatment beyond the physical therapist’s scope of practice.

When treating a patient without referral under direct access physical therapy in Maine, the physical therapist:

Cannot make a medical diagnosis;

Must refer the patient to an appropriate licensed healthcare provider if no improvement is noted in the patient record within 30 days of the first treatment date;

Must consult or refer the patient to an appropriate licensed healthcare provider if physical therapist treatment is required beyond 120 days.

Employers may not cover workers’ compensation charges for physical therapy services in Maine unless the employee has been specifically referred to the physical therapist.

direct-access

Direct Access lets you self-refer for physical therapy. No prescription required.

Get the BetterPT patient app

Download the BetterPT app for iOS or Android and get access to the best physical therapists near you.

Simply enter your phone number and we will send you a download link for the app via text message.*

*The app is free for patients to download. Your phone carrier text message rates apply

app store